Essay Prize FY19/20

Submissions will shortly open for the inaugural Professor Maureen Brunt AO CPRC Essay Prize. Awarded annually, the essay competition asks Honours, Masters and PhD students to explore a key current challenge for consumer policy development.

Research Pathways Program Guidelines 2019/20

The Professor Maureen Brunt AO Essay Prize

CPRC’s annual Essay Prize honours Professor Brunt, whose work had a profound and lasting impact on consumer and competition law in Australia. The Essay Prize is open to any student enrolled in the fields of consumer and competition law, human rights, public policy, consumer behaviour, privacy, ethics, economics and data science. 

The winner will receive a $7,500 cash prize, with $2,500 for the runner up. The top 10 essays will also be published on our website and distributed to our network of regulatory, industry, policy, community sector and academic experts. The Essay Prize will be launched at the Data (R)Evolution conference on 19 November 2019 with winners to be announced in March 2020.

We are delighted to be able to recognise Professor Brunt’s legacy in this way, and hope you will read more about her in Monash University’s wonderful dedication posted after her passing earlier this year. We thank Professor Brunt’s family for supporting this endeavour.

Guidelines will be released over the coming weeks.